A Fitness Assessment, Then Off I Go!

Beginning April 1st, 2013 (yes, I know it’s April Fools Day.  No, this is not a joke), I am going Gluten-Free Vegan for the entire month.  I’ve spent the last several weeks researching what not to eat, how to eat well and throughly enjoying reading about food.

About a month ago, I got sick.  Nothing terrible, just a lingering cold that left me feeling continually tired and congested. Last weekend, I managed to contract a particularly vicious strain of Strep Throat and it did quite a good job of kicking my cold into high gear again.  Basically what I’m saying is: I haven’t been able to breathe out of my nose comfortably for almost a month and sleeping has become my new hobby.  I’m cranky, coughing, discombobulated and a general hot mess.

¡Perfect time for a full body cleanse!

So, I stopped in to SNAP Fitness near my house yesterday.  They were kind enough to give me a “Fitness Assessment” so I would have a physical baseline from which to work.  If you are a member of this club, it’s totally free and from what I understand, you can get them whenever you want as often as you’d like.  I was thinking it would be interesting to see, at the end of the month, if there are any noticeable physical changes that happen as a possible result of my April Lifestyle change.

Here are my results:

  • Height 5′-2″
  • Weight – 144lbs
  • Body Fat – 32.9%
  • BMI – 25.9
  • Bi/Tricep Circumference – 11.5″
  • Chest Circumference – 37″
  • Waist Circumference – 29″
  • Hip Circumference – 39.5″
  • Thigh Circumference – 24.5″
  • Cardio Fitness Test: 80% Tile = Good (3.8 @ 5 incline, for 5-min on a treadmill: 144 bpm heart rate)
  • Flexibility Fitness Test: 5% Tile = Poor (I believe she recorded this wrong, as I am able to bend at the waist and place my hands flat on the floor. If you asked my boyfriend, he’d say I’m pretty flexible….going to talk to someone next time I’m at the gym)
  • Muscle Endurance Test: 70% Tile = Good (28 sit ups in 60-seconds)
  • Muscle Strength Test: 5% Tile = Poor (10 Chest Presses @ 30lbs.  Again, I don’t think she explained the test correctly.  From what I can tell, this is based on pressing your max weight, but she did not ask me to do that…going to check with another staffer when I ask about the Flexibility Test).
Measurements from SNAP Fitness Fit Score Program

Measurements from SNAP Fitness Fit Score Program

So now I’ve got a physical baseline, a stack of cookbooks and a binder of recipes, friends who are excited to eat my culinary experiments and a blog in which to keep track of it all.

Tomorrow is my first big cooking day to get ready for the week.  I’m making a Rockin’ Moroccan Stew, Baba Ganosh, Roasted Red Pepper Hummus and Quinoa Tabouli.

Inputting Information From Cardio, Strength, Endurance and Flexibility Test.

Inputting Information From Cardio, Strength, Endurance and Flexibility Test.

Thanks for stopping by to see what I’m up to.  Remember, if you’ve actually found me and would like to contribute to the conversation, feel free to leave a comment, a recipe, a helpful suggestion or a friendly hello.

Cheers!

Comment Away!

Food: A Love Story

Ayurvedically Inspired Healthy Food and Recipes

the great vegan caper

tiny kitchen adventures

The Good Greatsby

The humor blog of Paul Johnson: He doesn't do it for the money. But he wouldn't object if you gave him some.

Clean Eating with a Dirty Mind

Culinary Adventures in Paleo Cooking

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 391 other followers

