The Adventure Begins

Image

It all started last fall really, when I decided that I needed to make some positive changes in my life.  Hmmm…no, scratch that.  It all began about a year and a half ago, when my life took a dramatic twist.  Nope, that’s not entirely accurate, either. The adventure began about a decade ago back, when I drunkenly signed up for a 500-mile bicycle ride at 2am.  Grrrrr….friends reading over my shoulder, are chuckling that it goes back much, MUCH farther than that even.

Okay.  Here it is:  I’ve always been a bit of a free spirit and the idea of taking on new challenges, biting off more than I can chew and making major productions of almost everything I touch is apparently a part of my genetic coding.

So, after hearing from several friends about their various gluten-free, vegan, no sugar, no alcohol completely “taking the body back to neutral” cleanses over the past year…well, I decided I needed to see if I could make it happen for me, as well.

So, here I sit.  New blog in lap, Pinterest board “30 Days of Gluten Free Vegan” is filling out nicely and a veritable forest of reading material is sprouting before my very eyes.  The research has begun and I gotta say, I’m pretty pumped.  In just about 2 weeks, I will begin a one month journey into the depths of “living clean”.  I am cutting out all meat.  Removing alcohol and sugars. Eliminating the evil that is gluten and staying as raw and fresh as I can.

This blog will be a record of what I am eating (the recipes and maybe even prep/cooking tips if I’m feeling so inclined to share), how my mind and body are feeling (the positive, not so awesome and probably a weird in there, too) and random blips of whatever else I want to share with the nonexistent following I currently have.  If there is anyone actually reading this, feel free to comment and get involved.  There is always something to learn out there and I would love to learn it from you!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracey Thomas
    Mar 15, 2013 @ 03:22:51

    Very cool. Good luck on your GF journey!

    Reply

  2. shanalovesyou
    Mar 15, 2013 @ 03:23:09

    Right there with you, babe! As in, go ahead and try it and let me know how you feel every step of the way, and maybe I’ll do it after you? Here’s to the brave souls willing to try the drastic possibly awesome paths that lead us to something pure and unexpected. rawr!

    Reply

  3. Joel
    Mar 15, 2013 @ 08:07:59

    Curious…Is soy in the mix?

    Reply

  4. KELSIEJANE
    Mar 15, 2013 @ 14:25:39

    You go girl! Can’t wait to see the progression of your journey over the days, weeks, and month!

    Reply

  5. fatguygoingraw
    Mar 16, 2013 @ 02:29:15

    Congrats! I’m headed in the same direction as you! Can’t wait to read about your progress!

    Reply

  6. Carmen
    Mar 17, 2013 @ 01:52:23

    Week 3 for wheat-gluten free for me and am loving it:) And so is my body:) And I dont miss the junk at all!!!! Keep me posted and know you WILL feel amazing on this journey!!!!

    Reply

Comment Away!

katemartinoblog

Healthy - Happy - Delicious

Food: A Love Story

Ayurvedically Inspired, Whole Food, Healthy Recipes from Laura Plumb

the great vegan caper

tiny kitchen adventures

Don't Switch Off The Light

GO VEGAN BECAUSE ITS THE MORALLY RIGHT THING TO DO

The Good Greatsby

Paul Johnson's comedy blog: I didn't get into comedy to be rich or famous. All I've ever wanted was to be loved...by somebody rich and famous.

